Connecticut COVID-19 Update

The Connecticut Department of Revenue Services is reminding residents and retail stores that the state’s single-use plastic bag tax will go back into effect on tomorrow, July 1. That means if you don’t bring your own bags, the store has to charge you 10 cents for every plastic bag they give you. That is scheduled to continue for a year.

The State Department of Labor has sent out reminders about extending unemployment benefits. Since March 13, Connecticut’s DOL has received more than 656,000 unemployment applications. Just over 632,000 of those have been processed.

The Connecticut State Department of Education has released new guidelines for the 2020-2021 school year following last week’s announcement of the reopening of schools.

“Adapt, Advance, Achieve: Connecticut’s Plan to Learn and Grow Together” was created based on input from students, parents, teachers, public health officials and education stakeholders. Starting today, the state's Dept. of Education will launch the CT Learning Hub, It’ll be a free and interactive webpage to support online and off-line learning. The 50 page document outlining the reopening of schools can be found HERE

At least 16 states have halted their reopening plans in response to a surge in new infections, but some health officials say the spread of coronavirus will be difficult to control.Beaches in Florida and California will close for the holiday weekend, Michigan more than 100 cases are linked to a single restaurant. New Jersey is banning indoor dining for the time being. More states are mandating mask wearing in public.Arizona shut down its bars, gyms, and other businesses for a month. New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Monday the state will decide later this week on whether to slow the reopening of indoor dining in New York City as it has "been shown to pose risks in other states." Gov Ned Lamont is looking at how phase 3 plans in July will look here in CT as he may be reconsidering opening bars at this point.

Travel Advisory: Effective 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, June 24, 2020, anyone traveling into Connecticut, New York, or New Jersey from a state that has a new daily positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average are directed to self-quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.

As of today, the list of states includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah.

This list will be continually updated as the situation develops across the country.